top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMISS IRIE BLUES

Fashion Is Power

Updated: Feb 19, 2020

By Serae Avance


What is “Fashion Is Power”?

Fashion is power because it represents self as a form of expression, identity, personality and character. All very similar things to describe such but you know what I mean. Power lies in communication and my language is fashion.


What does that mean to me?

Speaking for myself, I better communicate through art and fashion. As a young girl I grew up in between lower and middle class. Call it what you want. I did not have everything I desired but was blessed with once a year shopping sprees that lasted through all four seasons. With the inspiration from fashion magazines I was able to replicate trends with what I had. You know that saying, “all you have is what you need.” Without knowing I did just that. And with colors, styling and reconstruction I was able to be who I wanted to be. It was so cool to create just as the designers did in those magazines.


Nowadays not only am I able to communicate through fashion my identity and personality. But I am able to communicate my character and to advocate for what I believe in. Which is unifying communities and to help contribute to developing countries health system. A God given purpose.


How does “Fashion Is Power” relate to others?

Over the decades fashion has represented world views in politics, war, waves of feminism, style in music, climate change and more. Many believe the 2010s are to be described as the “lost decade”.Though, I am thankful for those who are making ways for fashion to be sustainable, continuing to make this world go round. Thanks to them, we are still able to express who we are, what we are through fashion.


A few examples of “Fashion Is Power”…..

Styling in white expresses purity in identity. Animal print expresses the luxury of culture.



Using words on fashion to obviously make powerful statements. “No Worries”, this fit was chosen to communicate how the new decade feels like no worries. No longer do I feel lost. No more doubt in what is to come. To walk by faith and not by sight.



These images are taken on what is left of Black Wall Street in Greenwood District. To represent the power within a black developed community of entrepreneurs here in Tulsa, OK. Built by blacks, for blacks. The Black Wall St. mural communicating history through art. Mabel B. Little house that was rebuilt from a home structure built by the previous black owners. And Vernon A.M.E. Church, the only building still standing originally since the 1920s. The fashion chosen are from over the decades showcasing street wear, luxury, art and power dressing. The color palette of women and diversity in style represent inclusivity.



How can “Fashion Is Power” be describe for you?

58 views1 comment
bottom of page